‘Stolen Innocence’ book

     Well here it is that time again where I am sitting down and racking my brain to think of a topic to write about. I know I am in the middle of a story about myself, but I can’t feel it right now. I don’t want to just throw something up in a post when I know it will suck when it pertains to getting on with my story.

     I usually think all day about what I plan on writing at night. If I am really thinking hard about what to say about my life story, I will plan on how to go about moving it along. I have time at work to think about these things because I ride around in a truck all day from job to job.

     But today, and yesterday, I have been reading a book called ‘Stolen Innocence’ by Elissa Wall. I found this book at…dare I say…Target when I got bored with my wife’s shopping for bedroom decor. Yes I know I wrote about how hard it is for a man to be there. It is! So I wandered to the media section.

     I found this book ‘Stolen Innocence’ and picked it off the shelf because the cover made me curious. I has this little girl on it, who is wearing a long sleeve dress. She looks like, what I thought, an Amish girl. I was wrong.

     Upon reading the jacket, she is from the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, or FLDS. Apparently she is now grown up and wrote this book about what her life was like living this lifestyle she was born into.

     Then I noticed the pictures in the middle and read the captions under each one of them. Very, very interesting. As I finished, my wife said that she heard this book was very good. So I bought it.

     I have been glued to it ever since. It has taken my mind off my blogging ideas for a while. But obviously I have found some thing to blog about…that book!

     I highly recommend it! It is a good hard look into the lives of these people through the eyes of the author, Elissa Wall. It shows just how faithful they are to their God and to their families and their prophets.

     Amazing that this stuf goes on. If anyone reads this blog and has, or is, reading that book, please drop me a comment. I wanna know what you think.

11 Responses to “‘Stolen Innocence’ book”


  1. 1 Lisa Pulitzer June 25, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Hi

    My name is Lisa Pulitzer and I am the co-author of Stolen Innocence. I just happened upon your blog this morning and wanted to thank you for taking the time to read Elissa’s story. Reading what you had to say about her story made me feel proud. It is so wonderful to know that great people like you are out there getting the word out about Elissa’s incredible story.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to read about and telling others about her amazing story!

    Sincerely,
    Lisa Pulitzer

  2. 3 headslammer July 18, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    The book IS very good. I highly recommend it. I could not put it down.

  3. 4 Laurel July 24, 2008 at 11:25 am

    I recently read Stolen Innocence and was fascinated by it – an excellent read! And very cool that the co-author commented here. 🙂

  4. 5 headslammer July 24, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    It was a book I could not put down. I even read while at work. Very interesting and educational.

    The fact that the co-author, Lisa Pulitzer, left a comment blew my mind! I never thought something like that would even happen. I thank her for her kind words.

  5. 6 ace ellis August 22, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    My client has this book on 16 cd’s or dvd’s. She wants to put it on her Ipod. Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Ace

  6. 7 headslammer August 23, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Unfortunatley I don’t know how to put dvd’s into an iPod, but if it is on regular cd’s, I believe she can load it up just like any regular music disc.

    I am assuming she knows how load discs into her iPod.

  7. 8 kimmy September 1, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    i too, read this boit ok and every time i HAD to put it down i couldnt wait to get back to it. This book is so moving, and ever since ive finished the book, ive been looking up information on the author, elissa walls she is an unblievably strong person , i say they should make a movie based on this book .

  8. 9 headslammer September 1, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I agree 100% about the movie. It would probably end up on Lifetime Movie Network.

    My wife and I could not put the book down either. It was very intriguing.

    If you have a Myspace, as I do with my wife, we have Elissa as a friend. You can try to find her there. I believe we found her by using “Elissa”. Good luck.

  9. 10 Jenny K October 21, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I just finished reading Stolen Innocence. I too was not able to put the book down once I started reading it.
    Having been to St. George, Utah many many times, I could picture all of this. Also been to Springdale, Utah, Cedar City, etc.

  10. 11 headslammer October 21, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    It’s the first book I ever read that was impossible to put down. I was even manipulating my time at work to make time for reading this book. Great read!!


Leave a Reply

About Me

Add to Technorati Favorites
June 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives


