Getting Back In Shape

     This morning is the first day of me trying to get back in shape. I am a mess and I feel like I am rotting away at the age of 35. I need to change my lifestyle.

     About ten years ago I ran a marathon and I was in the best shape of my life. I trained for nearly two years for that run. Along the way, I ran in races of higher mileage just to test myself to see if I had it in me. A 10-mile race in Hell, Mi verified that I had it. That race consisted of hills, dust, dirt roads, and extremely high humidity under a sun-filled sky. When I crossed the finish line, the marathon I wanted to run was starting to become a reality.

     But that was all ten years ago. Alot has changed since then. My life, my health, my lifestyle, my eating habits. I even smoked! That was terrible. I have just quit that. I realize now what the addiction is. I have sympathy toward smokers who try to quit. It IS a bitch!

     I ran 2 miles today. 2!!! I used to run 6 daily. With my eyes closed! Barely breaking a sweat!

     Not today though. I felt like crap. My legs felt heavy. It felt like I had cinderblocks on my feet. It was sort of hard to breathe. But I made it. My goal was just 2 miles, and I succeeded.

     In my experience with running, I have learned that you need to start out slow. Let the body get used to this new activity. It can be very strenuous when your not used to the constant pounding of feet, and learning how to breathe again.

     Yes, I said learning to breathe. There is a calming rhythmn all runners learn to relax themselves and make the exercise or race, whatever they are participating in at the time, more enjoyable.

     I am in that stage right now. Stage one, learn to take care of your body by stretching properly, eating healthy, and getting plenty of rest by going to bed at a reasonable hour.

     There is alot work ahead of me. ALOT! But I feel like I have another marathon in me. I have to dig through alot of garbage (fat, sore muscles, getting in shape) to get to that goal. I also have to pace myself. If I go to quickly with my training and running harder than I should, I will get hurt. So it’s on. This is day one. Countless to go.

2 Responses to “Getting Back In Shape”


  1. 1 Bboy July 20, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    I too am 35 and feeling that I could have never been in shape. Eventhough I was weight training 4 days a week nearly 10 years ago. The photos that my wife has of me from back then are hard to look at. I wish I could find that motivation I had back then in a different form. Back then it was ego driven and self centered. Since I became a father and husband my ego had to take a back seat to the family.
    I hope I can find the will to get back out there soon or I fear my health will take a turn for the worst. I do not want to end up like my many friends struggling with diabetes. Thanks for your post as it has got me thinking again. Good Luck to you.

  2. 2 headslammer July 20, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    I, too, had the drive from ego and wanting to brag that I was able to run a marathon. To this day I brag about running in it.

    Now my motivation is to show my kids that with a little work, you can have great gratification.

    I am also motivated by driving myself to doing something that I know I can accomplish. I know it’s in me. I am digging it out from the trashy way I have lived. I am using determination as the shovel to get to the real me. My ten years of play time is over.


Leave a Reply

About Me

Add to Technorati Favorites
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives


