Vh1 Makes Me Feel Old

     About 20 years ago when  I was in my early teens, I remember flipping on Vh1 and viewing it as the “old people’s” MTV. They used to play older artists on there like Eric Clapton, Genesis, Tina Turner, etc. Pretty much bands I was not into at the time.

     Now I am hooked to that damn Vh1 and every single one of those countdown shows where they give you the Top 100 this, and the Top 100 that.

     I see videos, bands, and hear songs on there that throw me back to the days in my life where everything was easier. Falling in love the first time, drinking my first beer, sneaking out late at night, raising hell, grabbing butts, and just plain ol’ coming of age.

     Things on there make me remember exactly what I was doing when I first heard certain songs. I remember who I was with and where I was at.

     It also makes me feel kinda good, to know that I have grown up, and it makes me feel like I have actually accomplished some things in my life, because back in those days, I had no clue what I wanted to do with my life, and  I was afraid I never would know.

     But now that I have it all figured out, and looking back at those days by watching those countdown shows, I feel kind of old.

     Am I the “old people” who are watching Vh1 like I used to think watched it?

     Yes! And it feels pretty damn good!

2 Responses to “Vh1 Makes Me Feel Old”


  1. 1 Michael December 10, 2008 at 12:53 am

    I think VH1 has surpassed MTV in their brand and programming. I recall as well, when MTV hit the airwaves, VH1 was a “me-too” music network, almost stigmatic with their adult contemporary format. The whole concept of music video was youth oriented and at the time, VH1 was like introducing an Atari for grown ups in an era when only kids played video games. I love the “I love the…” series too for the same reasons as you, and Best Week Ever is a favorite. A lot of the MTV programming seems to be derivative of VH1 concepts.

    • 2 headslammer December 10, 2008 at 7:41 pm

      Yes, it does seem that way about how MTV is compared to VH1. They are both owned by the same parent company, Viacom, and yet so different. VH1 programs kick MTV’s ass in. But, maybe this is age talking again.


Leave a Reply

About Me

Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


