A Sentimental Fool?

     Have you ever heard a song on the radio, a song you have not heard in a very long time, and have it remind you of the first time you heard it?

     Maybe it was in grade school, when you were on the Jungle Gym in the schoolyard, when a friend walked up with a tape recorder (remember those?) with a tape playing in it.

     I was in 2nd grade of a Catholic school when I  heard Nazareth’s “Hair of the Dog” for the first time that particular sunny afternoon. I was in shock and I literally thought that this friend of mine was bad news and someone I should stay away from because of the words sung in that song.

     Maybe it was Junior High, riding a carnival ride with Judas Priest’s “You Got Another Thing Coming” blaring from the speakers. I was with my best friend, and STILL friends with him today, when we heard this song.

     I know it was out for a while during this particular time, but every time I hear it now, I remember being on that ride that cool, autumn night. We were chasing a couple girls around and having a real good time.

     Maybe it was in high school, when you think you are in absolute love with a girl, and you hear a song from the days you were “going with” her.

     I was thinking today, about how cool it would be if those people you shared that special moment with, heard that same song right at the same time you are hearing it on the radio.

     How cool would it be if they, too, are reminiscing of the times you had together and how that song was the coolest song ever, and how easy life seemed to have been?

     How cool would it be if for that very moment, you connect spiritually after all those years and think, at the time you hear that song,  and wonder if that person is doing good with themselves?

     Call me a sentimental fool, but it’s just something I think about at times.

2 Responses to “A Sentimental Fool?”


  1. 1 bitchinterrupted December 29, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Wow, I have been thinking about that a lot lately too. There seems to be a lot of songs lately that apply. The Pretenders, Stand by You still reminds me of my best friend. I remember buying her that CD ten years ago when she went through a hard time and EVERY time I hear it think of her, and STILL best friends with her today. I think music is powerful, can be good or bad depending on what it reminds you of…It’s weird to think that if that person is thinking of you at the exact moment you are thinking of them, I think it happens.


Leave a Reply

About Me

Add to Technorati Favorites
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


