Baby-Making With An IUI

     My wife and I are on a mission to make a baby. I have written, in this blog, all about our experiences during our journey to make a baby. We have had close calls, we had our hopes fade, and we have had disappointments. But then we would try again the following month, repeating this cycle.

     I am going to sum up the journey so far, and to get myself acquainted with what I have written, and not written, to this point.

     Fifteen months ago, I had a vasectomy reversal. It was a good decision because it gave my wife and I the chance to make a baby. We had decided to try right before we got married a year earlier. We were excited and willing to “do the do” on time, every month, like clockwork.

     So I got reversed, and a month later the trying began. Every month, according to my wife’s clock and her calendar and her “piss sticks” and most of all, her say-so, we tried.  It was fun for the first couple months. Then frustration set in. Then it became work. Never had I thought that having sex would be work and I would feel pressured.

     Along the way, I had taken in 3 sperm samples to see what my army of baby-makers were up to. I found out they were there. Plenty of them. Some 20 million of them. But they were slow, almost inactive, but they were there. And that’s what mattered because we were able to keep trying.

     Several months went by and my wife and I got to the point where we weren’t watching the calendar anymore. We were doing the deed when we wanted. We tried to take the pressure off. This didn’t work either.

     We talked to a urologist and got advise on what to try to do to help. This is where he hit us with trying IUI, intrauterine insemination. This is a procedure where, after I produce sperm sample, they take it out, and put it in my wife’s uterus.

     My wife was instructed to pay attention to her ovulation times of the month. She bought a First Response pregnancy kit, where she has to urinate on one and it tells her of her hormonal levels, also known as her LH surge. When it peaks, we are to come into the clinic the following day and they will perform the IUI.

     When her levels are high, she has an egg in her uterus. When the IUI is performed, sperm is shot into the uterus. This procedure, in real easy terms, is putting the boy in the same room as the girl without having him have to walk through the front door, walk down a hallway and enter her room. This procedure skips the journey and puts the boy in the same room immediately.

     This procedure was performed a week and a half ago. We are waiting to see if this works. I hope it does. My beautiful wife hopes it does, too. I know my sperm are slow and lazy. I refer to them as a bunch of fat, lazy kids playing video games while eating licorice. I hope that with them being put in the uterus with her egg will motivate them to move their asses and hook up and get my wife pregnant.

     I hope to have news in the next week or so. Until then, I will treat my wife as if she is “with child” by not letting her do any strenuous chores, although the doctor told her to go about living life the same as usual. But until we know, we will wait.

5 Responses to “Baby-Making With An IUI”


  1. 1 ToddTheWetSprocket March 5, 2010 at 12:14 am

    What was your reversal recovery like? I got a reversal 5 weeks ago, and I still can do very little, and nothing in the way of exercise.

    • 2 headslammer June 11, 2010 at 11:38 pm

      I was able to go back to qork after a week and I have a physical job. I was a little tender, but capable of doing my job.

      • 3 Camille October 26, 2012 at 1:06 am

        So, did the IUI work? My husband is getting a reversal next week and we are really nervous about making a baby afterwards. thanks for sharing!

  2. 4 joe kosowan August 1, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Hey there. I read your story and was wondering how things are now? I am living proof that it works guys. I had it done in Sept o8 and we now have just celibrated or little guys 1st birthday, and a week later found out that my wife is again pregnant! It is August 2011 now so just be patient. For our first we were very nervous that it may not work. She was watching temps and of that stuff… but number 2 was a surprise! And a blessing so hang in there!


  1. 1 Trade or sell1976 Oldsmobile Cutlass 2 door (Adairsville) $2400 Trackback on January 28, 2012 at 9:51 am

Leave a comment




About Me

Add to Technorati Favorites
February 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives